top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

5º

Updated: Apr 16, 2019

We are well into March and Semana Santa is just ahead to motivate me through one more week of midterms. While my program here definitely emphasizes academics, these exams/papers/etc. are somewhat less demanding than what would be required of me at U of M so I'm getting along alright with my classes. Perhaps my favorite part of learning is when different course topics overlap and I feel lucky to be experiencing that here. I can remember a few weeks this fall when all of my classes seemed to be digging into the topics of race and media at the same time and I so benefitted from that rich overlap of perspectives and ideas. The same seems to be happening here as I learn about the Spanish language, culture, and history through different lenses. In having these diverse conversations about cultural differences or reading texts about historical events in Granada that shed light on the city as it is today, my learning becomes more cohesive and I can make connections between the different topics. And with all this taking place in Spanish I do feel like I'm gaining a new level of fluency where I can make these more complex observations come together.


Aside from just classroom learning, I've been doing some thinking about this experience as a whole. A friend asked me how I think I'm changing as a result of this experience and, without being too preemptive, I think I've found a preliminary answer: travel and living abroad are teaching me to be more flexible. There are weeks back home where it feels like class syllabi, work schedules, and YoungLife commitments claim the bulk of my time and energy without leaving much flexibility for surprise adventures. There's nothing wrong with that per se, but it's refreshing having more flexibility here to do things spontaneously, and even more exciting to have people to share those experiences with. For example, after an exam this week I was getting ready to finish up some more homework before going home for lunch, but two friends had the idea to walk around the historic neighborhood nearby instead. In that moment I had to ask myself what would fill me up more: crossing off a piece of homework in my planner or enjoying a walk with friends through a beautiful part of this city? Saying yes to that unplanned, unexpected excursion ended up being the highlight of my day and it was a reminder of the joy that can be found in the unexpected. There are times in life when we need to plan and organize, but this feels like a time to ditch the planner and be open to whatever opportunities come along.


Another nugget of learning comes from a different friend who shared with me a cultural observation she'd made: unlike the US where rest is discouraged and we're taught to go-go-go, rest is encouraged in Spain and people don't feel ashamed for taking time to recharge. I thought that was so insightful of her and this observations gives me a better understanding of the siesta practice and the fact that nearly all commercial shops are closed on Sundays. Although these practices can present a problem to my schedule, it's a reflection of the value this culture places on rest and everyone's right to recharge when necessary. There's no shame here in stepping back from the hustle and bustle to share a meal with family or go to a café with a friend. I, too, have loved taking my time after lunch to read, rest, or call home, and that time of relaxation does give me a boost of energy going into the rest of the day. This idea even fits in with my earlier thoughts on flexibility--as a college student I feel the expectation to always be pursuing productivity, but it is so refreshing to have permission to take a breath when necessary. There's definitely something to be learned from this more relaxed pace of life and the attention given to rest.


Continuing with the theme of realizations, I've also been thinking about the idea of "home". Michigan continues to feel more and more like home and as much as I'm enjoying my time here I find a lot of comfort knowing that there's an end date and I'll be coming hopping on a flight back to the mitten. This feeling has somewhat surprised me, but it's an important lesson to be learning pre-graduation and it's shaping my ideas for where I see myself going after this December. One strange feeling to articulate is the nostalgia I feel for places I haven't even been in the US. Within the excitement I feel for returning home, I feel excitement, too, for all the places left to explore within the borders of my own country. It's too soon to say where I feel called, but I get the sense that my sweet spot for future moves will be within the US. I think this feeling is indicative of my attachment to "home" and it will continue to be a guiding realization as I prepare for post-graduation life. To be clear, I am just beginning my love for travel and want to seek out opportunities to build all sorts of travel adventures into my life.

Photo Update


About a week and half ago a friend and I took a bus up to Madrid for the weekend (roughly 5 hours). I had heard mixed opinions on the city before going but I ended up loving our time there! We walked a lot, enjoyed some sun, and felt ~cultured~ taking in the art at el Museo Nacional del Prado.



The Palacio Real in Madrid is among the largest in Europe. We got a sense for the royal history of the capital before hitting a café for segundo desayuno.



A group of us also got the opportunity to participate in a bread-making workshop in Alfacar (a town just outside of Granada). The water there is said to be special, making the bread extra special.




Once we were full of carbs we took a hike through the nearby historic trenches from the Spanish Civil War. It made for quite the view with this fog!






Lastly, an update on the Nelson family: I love hearing news from home but a couple of weeks ago I heard some hard news, too. My grandma passed away at 91 and the world lost a light I felt like I was just getting to know. It wouldn't feel right for me not to speak up about this event in our family's life and be honest that my heart has been heavy with this loss. It's coming up on a year since my Dad's passing, too, and there's no question that grief begets grief so I've been missing him more than usual. These feelings have brought me back to my time in Uganda when my feelings of homesickness and loss melded together and it felt like my heartstrings were literal rubber bands being stretched too far. Now I find myself in a similar situation and, having been through this before, I do feel like I can cope with my emotions better. That being said, I'm holding the memory of both my Dad and my Grandma close to my heart and savoring all of the ways their love still lives on.


During the preparations for the funeral our family shared some photos online and this one really stuck out to me. I always knew my grandma as a loving, caring, and open soul but this photo seems to capture her at her finest. I hope I can radiate even a fraction of this beauty when I grow old.



71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

9º

8º

7º

bottom of page