top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah

7º

Updated: Sep 22, 2019

Since coming back from Semana Santa all has been going smoothly. A week or two passed with the usual highs and lows and then this past week I went to Morocco with my program. I had very few expectations going into the trip and I had little familiarity with the country, but I can now say that I have been to a handful of cities within Morocco and I have experienced a slice of its seemingly endless beauty. Because of the structure of our trip, though, I have also been introduced to some of the social and political landscape and I am left with some questions about this colorful and complex country. Naturally, this trip was unlike anything I experience regularly in Spain and it was an opportunity to extend myself a little further outside of my comfort zone.


This was my first time being in a predominantly Muslim country and, between our guide and the local university students I got to speak with, I gained a greater understanding of how the religion shapes the country and its people. Waking up to the call to prayer early in the morning was a particularly unique experience as was hearing from some local students about how their beliefs impact their daily lives. While those were more observational experiences, I also had the opportunity to participate in some cultural experiences during our time in Morocco. In Rabat we stayed with a host family for two nights and floundered around with English, French, a few Arabic phrases, and body language to communication. We also experienced a local hammam (traditional bath), visited some important historic sites, and heard a presentation on immigration. There's a lot to unpack from the experience and having only spent 5 days in the country I don't feel fully qualified to make any judgements on the country or form any conclusions. What this trip gave me, though, was an introduction to Moroccan life and an unexpected opportunity to build relationships with local residents. I don't know when I'll get the chance to go back to Morocco, but I'm certainly intrigued by the country and I'll be holding on to memories from this trip for a long time to come. Of course, I also love any trip that involves 15 passenger vans, an aux cord, and a snack bag, so the travel portions of our trip were some of my highlights when we could listen to our guide's selection of "authentic Moroccan" music and enjoy the countryside views.


We took a ridiculous amount of photos but I wanted to share a few that capture some of my favorite moments from this last week:

Tangiers


I don't know the story behind this specific door but it's one of many that captured my attention. In every city we took a walk around the winding streets and each time the ceramic tiles, unique architecture, and colorful walls got better with each destination.















Tangiers is right on the northern coast of Morocco and it's where our ferry docked after the rockiest ride across the Strait of Gibraltar. The views were beautiful but the waves were wild and we were all relieved to be back on solid ground. This picture is from our first full day as we were taking in some views. It's good to be back in the chacs!










Rabat


A traditional lunch prepared by our host mom. The lemon chicken tajin was my personal favorite but the whole meal was really a wonder. And of course the traditional mint tea!








A view of the Atlantic from Rabat. Wowowow











At one point on the trip my friend Giselle and I challenged one another to tell the other when we were experiencing joy. For a number of reasons I hadn't been feeling a lot of joy lately and it felt good to draw my awareness back to it. One day we all drove out of the city and met a family for lunch in their home. They welcomed us in and we shared a really interesting conversation, but beforehand we had time to enjoy the surrounding nature and take in the mountain views. We made flower crowns, took in the sunshine, and in that moment I felt so much pure joy. Here's to holding on to more of those moments!






Chefchaouen



On our last day we went to the "Blue Pearl" of Morocco. The city walls are painted all shades of blue and it was a dreamy time walking around at sunset.








The photo credit for this one goes to Giselle but it helps capture some of the magic of Chefchaouen.







One boat and one bus later we're back in Granada. While we were gone spring seems to have finally sprung (fingers crossed!) and the blooming plants have got me grinning non-stop. Before leaving Michigan I was excited for the sun here and it's about time that I can really enjoy myself outdoors. I'm currently typing from our rooftop terrace and I intend to take every opportunity I get in the next weeks to spend time in this sunny spot. Aside from the weather, classes are going well and finals will be here in no time. My heart is heavy knowing that I'm missing graduation season on campus but I'm finding comfort knowing that friendships will carry on whether or not I see those friends on a daily basis, and those relationships will just evolve into something different. I think the same will be true when this semester comes to a close and we all return to different parts of the states: our relationships will carry on, but they will evolve into something different. In the meantime, though, there are more adventures to share with these friends. I want to see more sunsets, try more tapas places, and check out the beach. I want to try new gelato flavors, go for more walks, and get to know more people in my program. Each week I challenge myself to a few small goals and I'll be setting intentions to do these things in the coming weeks. As someone who can be tied to school, work, and responsibilities, it feels good to give myself more space to relax and enjoy. It's still a work in progress but I'm doing my best to enjoy the little things and embrace opportunities for small adventures. In Morocco, Spain, or anywhere else, let's savor the tiny beautiful things today.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

9º

8º

6º

bottom of page